A trip to Tarrington

Went for a ride today to visit my Aunty Grace. Still living in her own home, by herself. Luckily my two cousins, Ann and Sally, visit her regularly and take turns to take her shopping to Ledbury which is about 7.5 miles away.
She is 97 years old, not good on her legs but all her wits about her and a memory I'd kill for!
I should have taken a photo of her, next time I'll have to do that. I don't visit her often enough really but life is so busy and it's going to get a lot busier.

The photo is taken from the video on the bike, passing through Ledbury for the memories rather than the 'newish' bypass. 
On the left is the old Alms Houses, the clock tower of the library and on the right the old Market House. There's a lot of half timbered buildings in Ledbury and it is full of memories for me as a child. My father and his 9 siblings lived in Tarrington and we used to come down from South Shields, by train when I was small and by car later in the 60's. Hop Picking was a big feature, I think you got 6d (6 pence which is about 2 1/2 p in todays UK money) for a big hesian sack of hops! (see extra photograph with me, my Aunty Kathleen, my Grandmother and a couple of cousins).
One time I came down to Tarrington with my Uncle Jim, who was a lorry driver with BRS (British Road Services). He was in Shields delivering timber to the dockyards. It was Summer and my Mum and Dad were planning to come on down so he took me in his lorry the 300 miles. It was not a luxurious ride, not like modern trucks but I remember I loved it and he put blankets over the large engine cover, which split the cab, so I could have a warm place to have a sleep. Can't remember how long it took but there were no motorways in those days.

It was a lovely dry day today, 11 deg C so not too cold, didn't even use the heated handlebar grips. 
https://www.britainexpress.com/counties/hereford/Ledbury.htm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.