CanCarrier

By CanCarrier

Arthur's Seat

I saw a link from a friend on Facebook advertising a New Year's Day clean up of the Queen's Park. So I put my big boots and my big coat on and went along to the ranger's station in Holyrood Park. 

There was a big turn out and we all got rubbish sacks and nit-pickers and a lecture about not picking up anything nasty and then we split into groups and set off into the bright sunshine. 

You can imagine the tissues and crisp bags and beer cans we found, but I also found a perfume bottle, a box of propelling pencil leads and one of the rangers found a lead bullet. 

He explained that Hunter's Bog used to be used by the Territorials as a rifle range back in 1830's. 

A fun and educational couple of hours. Back home for pizza. 

Hope you enjoyed the New Year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.