Dolly's New Years walk

It was a beautiful sunny day here so Lewis and went out for a walk. We managed down to Gourock and back before it started to rain a little bit, good timing.

Thank you for the comments on yesterday, I apologise that I was a little cryptic with my blip. I don't want to make this about me, it's just something we had the misfortune to be a part of. Lewis and I are both fine.

We were out for a walk on Friday night when we spotted a house fire in the very early stages. We initially thought it was Christmas lights as we were across the street, but quickly realised it was flames. It mast have only started 30 to 60 seconds before as you could still make out the room and pinpoint where the flames were. I called 999 as we ran across the road and Lewis tried to see if anyone was home. I managed to get the neighbours who confirmed an elderly man would be home. We tried to gain access to the property but couldn't get through the doors/double glazing, even with a hammer to try break the windows. The living room windows had started to crack and smash from the heat, the room actually went black from smoke. Lewis managed to get the external front door open but could see through the letter box of the internal door that the hall was full of smoke and an orange glow, so he couldn't get any further. The fire brigade arrived after what felt like an eternity and we directed them in telling them we believed a man to be home. The police later confirmed the man had been home and had passed away as they took our statements.

I think the worst part is knowing we came across it as it had just started and not being able to help. I guess you always think if you come across these things early enough the outcome will be better. Standing outside waiting for the fire brigade to come made me feel so helpless and I couldn't help feel we'd failed the poor man who lost his life. I haven't been able to get it out of my head since, I suspect it'll be a while before i can.

Please check your smoke alarms are working, we did not hear one going off inside the house. Also, if your relatives have a key safe, make sure a neighbour knows the combination, we might have gotten in if they'd known it.

Here is a link to the local paper. Sadly there was a second house fire in Gourock later that night and another man was confirmed to have died in that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.