Daedleh

By Daedleh

#hobbystreak

I'm a wargamer.

I assemble and paint tiny little toy soldiers and play pretend general with other wargamers across miniature landscapes.

You might know of the hobby as "warhammer" (though this is a brand, not the hobby itself).

There are several aspects to the overall hobby but the main two are building and painting miniature models, and the other is playing the games themselves. I enjoy both aspects but consider myself a foremost hobbyist - that is someone who is into the building and painting.

This morning (the 2nd) I stumbled across a blog post from one of my hobby heroes, Rob Hawkins (1), which discussed the #hobbystreak tag. The idea being that you carry out at least 30 minutes of hobbying every day, whether that's assembling models, painting them or any artistic *thing* relating to the hobby side of wargaming.

That sounds like a grand idea.

And it's a solid new year resolution.

Luckily I completed more than 30 minutes of hobby yesterday so I'm already on track with an unbroken hobby streak of one day!

I'm starting to paint a new army for a fantasy war game I play called Kings of War. It is a human army (makes a big change from my last demon army) that has a forest theme. I'm building them from multiple kits from multiple manufacturers and combining the pieces together to make a unique, thematic army of my own creation.

This is a unit of Elohi. 

The models aren't Elohi, but I'm using them as Elohi. You see, Elohi are a unit of angels that human armies can summon to fight for them, and in the case of my army I imagine that they manifest as ethereal spirits of the forest. 

They're not put on their final bases yet. I tend to build and paint all of the bases for an army in a single go, so once I've got them done I will reattach these Elohi to their final base.

It should be interesting to see if I can keep up with 30 minutes per day, and Blipfoto seems like as good a place as any to write up about it. I historically tend to be quite bad at keeping up with schedules, so here's hoping this one is different!

(1) https://robhawkinshobby.blogspot.com/2019/01/happy-new-year.html?m=1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.