Catherine's Journey

By camflutter

Rain guage

I bought a rain gauge! We haven’t had one in years, but then we haven’t needed one since no rain has fallen. I’m not sure how long the drought has been happening in NSW but all our dams are completely dry for the first time in the 13 years we’ve been here.
We’ve had bits and pieces of rain in the last couple of months, only once enough to leave any decent puddles. And every time I mention wanting to buy a rain gauge, Michael tells me that I will “chase the rain away”. Today, after I bought it, I pointed out to him that it’s clearly not me buying a rain gauge that is chasing the rain away! It may even bring the rains back!
First trip into town this year, on a 38 degree day, for much needed groceries and a doctor’s appointment. Luke came out for dinner tonight and just as we started to serve up the roast pork, with crackling and applesauce (I might add), his alarm went off alerting him to a fire call in town and that was the end of that! There hasn’t been a call out in 13 days so I suppose it had to happen sometime.
Did some yoga this afternoon so I’m feeling accomplished. Now if I can just get myself into the exercise bike for 15 minutes, I’ll be ticking all the boxes..,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.