The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Lets talk bollards

About a decade ago I bought from a car boot sale an unused, still in its box, Goblin Teasmade from around 1962. I thought "That's worth more than a tenner. I'll buy it."
It has been languishing in several dark places over the last ten years but this weekend I had the impetus (a broken car) to put it on ebay and make a bit of money. I had an amusing (I found it amusing) email conversation from a potential bidder today: (I was wrong about the VAT BTW but WTF)

Dear moon-coin,

you've stated postage at Standard Parcel service for £20? It would only actually cost £15.80, whilst it can be sent via Parcelforce 48 Hour Tracked/Signed For for only £15.30. A courier via www.parcels2go.com would be even cheaper - under £10 would you reconsider your charge?
I am very interested, but postage cost puts me off.
rgds,

-cuthdib



Dear cuthdib,

Hi thanks for your email. If you think it's worth less than twenty quid then you probably won't win the auction. I will keep it at twenty thanks after all it is the same for everyone. If I reduced the postage to £10 you may still be outbid by someone who collects in person. I used royal mail for pricing and it is £15.80 + vat. If it is worth £30 to you then just bid a tenner

Regards Richard


Dear moon-coin,

I don't comprehend what you are saying - bidding is bidding, postage cost is separate. You have obviously got the postage quote via an online courier firm. If you go direct to the Post Office, Standard Parcels is still as I quote, £15.80 and Parcelforce is less, only £15.30, VAT INCLUSIVE.
It appears you ae trying to make extra from postage?

-cuthdib



Dear cuthdib,

Whatever. Tell you what - you can have it for £500 and I'll post it for
free.

-moon-coin


Dear moon-coin,

what sort of attitude is that? Just admit at the prices you are charging for postage, you are out to make extra profit

-cuthdib



Dear cuthdib,

You are nuts. Please don't bid on it!

-moon-coin


Dear moon-coin,

Why am I? You are the one who has hyked up postage costs to more than what it would it cost to send, hence making extra profit! After receiving your first reply, if any one is nuts then it's you!

-cuthdib



Dear cuthdib,

Why are you nuts? I don't know. Were you dropped on your head as a baby?

-moon-coin


Dear moon-coin,

Grow up Postage Profit Maker.

-cuthdib


This sort of thing makes ebay double the fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.