Empty office

I had to work on New Year's Day. The extra money will be nice. It was awfully lonely in the office. There were only five people on our floor. One was in the digital side, and I don't know him. The others were on my side.

We recently moved desks because the building was sold and the new owners are rearranging things. I used to be to the left (you can see the corner of my cubicle wall; this is taken from the stairs). Now I am in the distance where the orange string is hanging.

This floor used to be full of people. We had around 100 staffers in our department working daily. Around a year ago, the company gave everyone laptops and encourages us to work remotely. I'm a holdout (until I move to Maryland with Jill). Since nearly everyone jumped on the opportunity, plus layoffs, buyouts and early retirements, we're down to about 20 desks. It's a sign of print journalism, and it's not going to get better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.