Missy's first mountain

With all the 'high risk' activities I do I've almost hilariously fallen foul of DIY. I say almost as Prepatella Bursitis (aka Housemaids Knee) turns out to be hugely painful. It hasn't really affected the functionality of the joint apart from the fact the knee is so swollen the skin is ridiculously tender and doesn't want to bend. So obviously after collecting some antibiotics from the Dr I took Missy for a walk... 

In the UK a mountain is normally defined as being above 2000ft, or 610m. With a level of awkwardness I'm sure we've come to expect from bureaucrats the UK government defines it as 600m.
 With a level of obtuseness that I'm sure you've come to expect from me I tend to more think 700m, but that may simply be a quirk of my competitive nature.

We parked high on the Dale Road and wandered up onto Mallerstang Edge. Even though we only ascended 250m it was Missy's first steepness - her hooning around didn't give any indication that the incline bothered her. 
Everything much past 500m was frozen, but my did we catch the only glorious part of the day. I admire Mallerstang often but come here seldom, I've à feeling that will change for a while as it was perfect dog walking territory now the sheep are gone for winter. 
I wanted to try and capture the shaded hills and vales as the Dale's become the Howgills, but Missy stole the show with an audacious ascent of High Pike Hill's summit cairn (642+1m, woohoo). We then ambled along the edge to High Seat (709m, double woohoo). 
Along the way Missy learnt another life lesson about why it might, just occasionally, be wise to listen to the pack leader. Fortunately as you'll see in extras it wasn't deep (though sometimes up here they really can be). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.