Success!!!

The injured goose is on its way to the hospital!   Here she is in her crate waiting to be picked up by the folks at the Wildlife Rescue Center.

I got her on the second attempt.  This morning's effort didn't work out and it was a good thing because I absolutely couldn't have done it by myself.  I had help from my friend Laurie late this afternoon on the second attempt and it was a good thing.  

I was very surprised that when I got the blanket over her she did not just lie down.  She thrashed around and only calmed down when I put my hands on her.  This morning when she got away from me she proceeded down to the water and had herself a bath and a swim. (See Extra)  She didn't seem any the worse for wear and came right back up on the porch later, so I knew she'd be okay.  

Thanks to all the Blippers who have followed the goose saga and provided encouragement and advice.  

The problem now is that I miss her!  It's slightly depressing to know that she won't be on my doorstep in the morning. Apparently, we bonded somewhere along the way.  I'll be able to check on her progress but they tell me it might be a month or so before she's okay.  They'll release her back here when she's healed.  

All good news with a good prognosis and a nice success story, but I still miss her! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.