Kaiserslautern, Vogelweh

Vogelweh is part of the city of Kaiserslautern. It has a brand new train station and I heard it's the only train station where one can drop itself a few times lenghtwise to reach an IKEA store. So if you ever feel like transporting a sofa in the train - here's the chance to do so. They even have shopping carts parked at the train station for your convenience.

My blip has nothing to do with IKEA (except the sign). My train stopped at the station, I saw the birds on the powerline and the pylon, remembered the name of the station (I did not have to look at the name of the station!) and I had no blip.

Birds do like Vogelweh - they are in it's name (Vogel = bird in German). The word "weh" for it alone stands for "Outch!" or as a noun for something (minor) painful. So perhaps birds have had "Outch!" experiences here...

Kaiserslautern-Vogelweh is also well known under American soldiers.

Your German lesson of the day.....(or not).

18:50; 1°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.