Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Persimmons and blue sky

This persimmon tree is fairly nondescript through most of the year, but in December when all the leaves have dropped and the fruit ripens, it dominates the block, decorated with its big orange balls. I love it against this (surprising) bright blue sky this morning. It doesn't appear the birds have paid much attention to it, but I know from previous years that the crows will descend on it soon and have a feast.

I'm not fond of persimmon fruit, I find it bland. What I do love is the tree's fortitude and resilience. It is said that a persimmon is the only tree that survived the horrific bombing of Nagasaki. "The particular Nagasaki specimen has had cuttings taken and sent all around the world to be planted and nurtured as a 'peace tree.'" (Source: "Healing Trees" from the blog Heroes Not Zombies.)

View it LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.