Change Bridge #186

On hearing of my project to explore the whole of the Lancaster Canal tow path, Mr P offered to drop me off at the end,  then park about 3 k further down and run back and forth.  The old Canal Head is now the refuse site  as I suspected.  The extra was going to be the post until I realised it was not in focus, which is shame but you still get the general idea of how picturesque the start of the walk isn't.

 Featured instead is "Change Bridge"; the only surviving change bridge in Cumbria. This is where horses pulling the laden barges had to cross from one side of the canal to the other,  going up the ramp on one side, over the bridge and down the other side without being unhitched from the barge.   Here you see Mr P running away into the distance. 
 For the record I am attaching the first bridge on the route; Castle Bridge no 187 as an extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.