La vida de Annie

By Annie

Naranjas en las calles.

As I've not visited Mahon during the festivities I thought I'd take a look before it's all cleared away to make way for the many other fiestas throughout the year. The streets were deserted, although all the bars were doing a roaring trade, in preparation for the arrival of the magi this evening, by boat and accompanied by a cavalcade of floats and various depictions of the kings, all throwing sweets to the children. I have witnessed this a few years ago, and though a spectacle well worth viewing, decided to give it a miss because of the noise and crowds which get me a bit twitchy these days. Instead I enjoyed the sight of the many orange trees in full fruit, lining the streets, and paid homage to the Belén or Nativity tableau beside the main church (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.