the end of christmas

There seems to be some debate about the actual date of Twelfth Night - is it today or tomorrow? I'm inclined to go with today, and then tomorrow its Epiphany. Some countries, such as Ethiopia, which still use the old Julian calendar, celebrate Christmas on the 7th. 

For me, it was our last choir concert tonight which marked the end of Christmas.However, I'm loathe to take down the tree and all the sparkly lights. I have read that the idea of bad luck coming to anyone who leaves up the decorations after 12th night was invented by the Victorians who wanted everyone back at work asap. In Tudor times, Christmas festivities continued until Candlemas Eve (1st February). So mine might be up fo a bit longer. I'll probably take down the tree but leave all the lights.

Anna had decorated the church in Moniave beautifully for tonight's concert and we were singing to a full house. I'm quite tired now, so I think an early night is in order :-) Goodnight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.