Bring Me My Chariot

We were all down in County Durham, making use of our 'chariot' to collect a very heavy item Miss Flum had bought online, so made a day of it.

Purchase made, she then introduced us to Barter Books, a huge bookstore with nice cafe in the old railway shed of Alnwick Station. It is a treasure trove for any booklover, and stock varies from the commonplace to the exceedingly rare. 
The extra is an example of such rarity, one, had I the funds, I would have snapped up as an investment, the tag reads: TREASURE ISLAND, SIGNED LIMITED EDITION by Robert Louis Stevenson; Edmund Dulac (illus.) 1927 limited edition [1/50] 12 colour plates £4400.00

Alongside, in three volumes, is NARRATIVE OF THE SURVEYING VOYAGES OF HIS MAJESTY'S SHIPS ADVENTURE AND BEAGLE First Edition 1839 £9,600.

I actually bought a first edition of a 'My Friend.. book by Jane Duncan, only to find that it is volume I had already, but, no problem, Barter Books does just that, so I can barter it back for another book next time I am in the area.

I did notice that the sections on 'Religion' and 'Science' are on opposite sides of the central aisle but assume that this to make the transition between the subjects the more easily accomplished....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.