Just a snap....

....but one that needed to be recorded.

Since the 9th of December 2018 hubby and I have made three trips at two weekly intervals to Gore Bay for me to document the flowering of the Pohutukawa trees otherwise known as New Zealand's Christmas trees. 

On the 9th hardly any were in flower but the trees were heavily laden with buds. They showed promise even though very slow this year due to our dismal start to summer.

We did the trip again on 22 Dec, this time many more were in flower but still not the array of colour I was hoping for.

Alas today I now realize because of the different varieties this is the closest I think I'll get to a blast of colour all at one time. Several trees have now finished, some are in full bloom and some are still to flower. Today they were flowering throughout the small beach settlement, very pretty by the roadside, on people's front lawns and up the cliffs. Will we return this summer.....I'm very tempted!

I must add the lovely yellow Pohutukawa were in flower for our first two trips and today they're practicably finished, just a couple of late buds in flower today.

Today it was quiet in the bay, just a few campers at the motor camp, a few people enjoying the sea with surfboards or inflatable boats, some were fishing while others were sunbathing or just simply walking...it was a glorious hot, 31C, summer's day.

I've put a couple in extra's which will jog your memory as to where we are as Gore Bay has been blipped many times through my 8 years of blipping.

We did call into the Hurunui River mouth which for some strange reason I find it hard to pass by without stopping. Plenty of people fishing in the waves but not sure the fish were biting today.

Happy Sunday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.