Hurrah

Grayson made it to his first parkrun.  He was very well behaved and I am hoping he will come again.  His human forgot her barcode though.  I may have to purchase her some shoe tags.

My knee is still stopping me from running.

I offered to write the run report today as no one else had.  It's not very inspired but am adding here for future reference.  I suggest you read no further unless your are very bored.  

#284 5 January 2019


It was a grey and chilly but, thankfully, frost free morning that greeted the 299 people who took part in event number 284 at the Prom Park today.  There were 22 first timers, 10 of which were completely new to parkrun and 12 enjoying their first visit to Maldon parkrun.


I had volunteered to do the set up this morning (which is a great opportunity to help out, get a parking permit, a pre-run warm up and to still take part.  Noticing that the volunteer roster had just one space for a run report writer (it’s a non essential task), I offered to fill that gap and write a few words today.  Well done to the other 18 volunteers today who made the event possible and to anyone who hasn’t tried it yet, please give it a go. Even if you can’t spare time immediately before, after or during the run, you could have a go at writing a few words over the weekend and spare people from having to read my random ramblings too often.


As the day didn’t get much warmer I have found a few minutes to spare and cast my eye over the results table (It was that with a glass of wine to hand or taking down the Christmas tree.  No brainer) Apologies from myself and the wine for anything that is missing or incorrect.


The tourists making that first visit to Maldon have a total of 280 runs between them, with Laura Dawson topping the table at 75 runs.  Hopefully some of them will make it back!


The tide was out but there was still a bit of a breeze along the straight out and back to Brythnoth but neither that or the few muddy patches in the woodland area stopped 24 people getting a new PB.    A shout out here to Charlotte Naughton who completed her first parkrun on New Years Day and came back to knock over a minute off her time. Well done Charlotte!


A mention too to some people reaching milestones today;


Lee Shuttlewood followed up his New Years Day double by running his 50th event.
Alfredo Valadas Marques and Nick Waring ran their 100 events.


The wind stopped me from hearing where the visitors had travelled from today during the run briefing but I know at least one had travelled from Hockley Woods as I spoke to him in the car park and that Nick (see above) mostly runs at Great Notley and Laura (again, see above) mostly runs at Southend and Hockley Woods.


In other news, Gabi had removed the tinsel from her walking poles this week (I’m hoping that I might see the poles decorated for another occasion before next Christmas) and my canine friend Grayson completed his first parkrun.


And finally, and again randomly, there were 3 people named Laura taking part today, 2 people named Charlotte, 1 named Lee, 1 named Alfredo and 3 people named Nick.


Off for another glass now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.