wrperry

By wrperry

Kingfisher

My daughter left this morning to head back home and my husband is recovering from a head cold, so I had a couple of hours to take a walk with my camera.  Since the sun finally made an appearance, I figured it was worth the drive to a local lake.  I made the loop around and saw a heron, multiple mockingbirds, diving ducks, one egret, geese, cormorants and seagulls.  Then I heard a Belted Kingfisher as it flew overhead.  After shooting away, I really couldn't see what I had until I got home.  It took a bit of cropping but it is identifiable as a kingfisher, more than I can say for most of my previous attempts with this bird.  I'm also posting a cormorant, because the background (and that turquoise eye) made me realize they really are more pretty than I give them credit for.
I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.