Alberta

By Alberta

Bhakshanum nanayee

A mixed day of ups and downs ... we cycled to the local resort for breakfast .. we used to stay here and it was a very authentic place - heritage huts built on the backwaters .. It still has that beauty in parts but the owners extended and there are five times as many huts not in the heritage style now .. profits and growth took over their interest ... we see what was a very unspoilt part of Kerala changing before our eyes .. and it is sad. I am reminded of the natural naive welcomes I experienced on the Greek islands many many years ago... somewhat changed now I fear...

Anyway breakfast was great ... Puttu - a tapioca dish and pea curry.. which I love ... plenty of coffee and fresh pineapple juice ...

The frustrating bit of the day was trying to connect to the internet.. the dongle kept crashing and work took ages.. but finally we seem to have found a solution.. We have the dongle in a USB extension lead hanging out of the window and I have got the fastest speeds I have had since we arrived and the means to upload photos!!

This photo is the path into the resort where we were for breakfast .. the view extends right to the backwaters (for which Kerala is famous - more of those in later blips) and it is still beautiful ...

Tomorrow our friends Ramesh and his wife Tulsi arrive .. we are looking forward to that .. Arul also in that photo arrives the following day ..

I softened the photo .. I thought it might help soften my state when I was getting frustrated with the internet!! (Any excuse to play with photos). I think it's good viewed large (wish I knew how to do a link to that!)

Bhakshanum nanayee = the food is great

P.S and thank you all .. my mono silhouettes the day before yesterday hit the spotlight... I wonder what those people in the photo would think if they knew!

View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.