Skipton

We joined the commuter traffic jam down the Twines before it was light this morning and, as we sat in the queue for the lights a cyclist maneuvered across the front of us and pedalled down the centre of the road.  I caught myself feeling relieved that, being retired, we no longer had to do that daily commute on two and four wheels.

We arrived in Skipton just after opening time at our Opticians and left having purchased three pairs of specs - second mortgage required!  Whilst orienteering on Sunday, I had to put my vari-focal superspecs on my head to read the map so it came as no surprise that my vision has deteriorated in the seven years I have had them.  It was a similar scenario for Tony.

Afterwards,  we had huge, yummy bacon sandwiches and cuppas at Cooper's Cafe before blipping this canal scene and heading back to the station for our train.  The weather has turned windy and wet so we've done several jobs and now are tucked up against the horrible day.  Tonight I'm going to talks/visual presentations by two exceptional women adventurers at the local primary school, in aid of their Forest School Fund.  Looking forward to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.