Poppy

By Poppy

Wild!

There have been a few things we needed to do in Kirkwall, so although it was a wild day, the barriers were still open and we decided to go for it.  We got well and truly wave lashed as we went across, but it was okay, Mike timed it well and we waited until there were no cars coming in the other direction!

One of the reasons for going in was to change library books, but even though I had left them just inside the front door, I still forgot to pick them up!  My brain is addled!

This was the return journey.  We had just watched a bus coming through it, appearing out of the waves!  Going in the tide was even higher!   After driving over the barriers in every weather for 30 years, when I was working, I am so glad I don't have to do it anymore!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.