Nadine Pierce, a snapshot

By nadinepierce

A New Chapter

In the most literal sense. I heard before Christmas that Bloomsbury will be publishing a catchily titled book (Food and digital discourse: Constructing identities and ideologies across social media and cultural contexts) and that one of the chapters will be based on my recent MSc dissertation (co-authored by myself and a couple of lecturers from QMU).

Today I had to submit my details and received the official writers guidelines and schedule - it’ll certainly be very interesting to get an inside peek into the world of publishing although I had thought I’d managed to leave the academic style of writing (that I really didn’t get on with) well behind.

In other news, the Mini misadventures continue - it went in to get the faulty sensors replaced only to be told there was a much more serious problem underneath, that will of course cost a whole heap more money. It’s getting quite farcical now. I’ve declined the extra repair just now and will wait until it goes into my new/locally recommended garage on the 29th for all the repairs it needs to get it through it’s MOT. I feel like I’m singlehandedly keeping Penicuik garages in business just now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.