Glowing

This is my very first pair of earrings, purchased during my freshman year of college, in 1965.  I fell in love with them in a shop window on Brattle Street in Cambridge, where I passed them most days.  When the sunlight hit them, they glowed from the inside, a glorious shade of green.  Of course, at that time, I didn't have pierced ears.  And they cost $10, an enormous sum for my scholarship student self.   

But I yearned for them with a passion that made me dread the idea of someone else buying them.  So I went in and got  them.  Next I needed to get my ears pierced.  An older student did this for me, numbing my lobes with an ice cube and using a sewing needle and heavy thread.  It hurt, but I knew it was worth it.

Apparently these are green onyx, but I didn't care what they were.  I've never felt that way about another pair of earrings.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.