si_b

By si_b

Week 1: Helios 40

So, starting strong this week with a Russian classic lens ( although 90% of my lenses are Russian, so perhaps that's not going to be particularly unique ! ) - the Helios 40 (Гелиос 40)

It's an 85mm f/1.5 lens, I've read that it was the fastest aperture made in Russia ( possibly at the time - but someone will doubtless know of something else ... ) and, mine at least, is a M39 screw mount. Although I do have an M39 adapter, because it is a full frame lens and the Fujifilm X-Pro2 is an APS-C sensor, I find it best to use it through an M42 adapter ring ( literally a small ring that screws onto the M39 thread adding a couple of mm in diameter ) and then through a focal reducer onto the camera.

When it is wide open, the depth of field is somewhat limited, but the background "bokeh" is weirdly swirly - something that it is sought after for by some.

It is a beast of a lens though, it weighs nigh on a kilo, although as it is relatively "stubby" it's not too uncomfortable to hold.

I'll be shooting with this for the remainder of the week till next Sunday, although I may switch camera to my full frame - there are no focussing aids though - and it is a very manual lens, so I can't promise much !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.