JanetH

By JanetH

Knife Angel

Wednesday 9th January 2019

After a service this morning I took some extra time off over  lunch as my friend Liz was making a flying visit. We went down to the cathedral to photograph the Knife Angel. It is made from confiscated knives used to commit crimes and is a "national monument against violence and aggression". It stands 27 feet tall and is made up of 100,000 weapons confiscated by 43 police forces across the country. 

It is a very powerful sculpture and there is so much emotion in the angel's face and hands. I have included a full view of it in the extras, as well as a close up of the knives. (I might well have posted a different view of the angel  showing both face and hands but JulesB beat me to it!)

We got very cold while photographing this. We moved down to the Albert Dock for some more photos, where there were some fabulous reflections. However, we were quickly drawn to the warmth of the cafe and a bowl of delicious Scouse. 

The short visit was over too soon. Liz headed home and I returned to duty.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.