Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Seven

Seven Arches Aqueduct is hidden away in the woods near Adel. Built in the 1840s to carry water from Ecup Reservoir to the growing city of Leeds it seems incongruous in its sylvan setting today.

Today's excursion saw me take a four stage bus journey to Golden Acre Park and the adjacent Adel Dam nature reserve. I spent a quiet hour or two in the hides, with plenty of colourful Teal, a couple of distant Kingfisher sightings and a solitary Shoveler (extra) among the highlights.

From there I walked the Meanwood Trail south to the Leeds ring road, where I found an impressive piece of ad-hoc typography.  The pedestrian underpass was another striking feature (extra) and from there I eventually found my way to the University of Leeds' Bodington playing fields where I watched FC Halifax Town U19 lose 0-1 to Eccleshill Utd U19 in a National League U19 Alliance fixture (small photo set on Twitter).

Today's miles walked: 8.4. Walking total: 42.1/1000

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.