Scooter safety... or not!

Had a rather dramatic start to the day, just after having left Zion at his classroom. I rode his scooter round the school to where there’s a rack to park them in. On my way round the scooter caught the edge of a paving block and sent me flying over the handle bars and smashing into the pavement with my nose and upper lip! Very grateful for the immediately compassionate and helpful parents that got me tissues and walked out with me checking I was genuinely ok! And then checked at pick-up time again! Also very grateful to not have cracked open my skull, broken any bones (except maybe my nose), or broken my front teeth! Got home and became rather shaken and ready, and was very grateful again for Sam taking on all Allegra duties and getting me arnica and paracetamol from Sutton. And then for Judith who answered my FaceTime call and gave me an impromptu doctors appointment which calmed my nerves! (Not sure I’d have as much sympathy as people did for me today if they told me they’d fallen off their kid’s scooter!)

I then spent several hours with ice on my nose, and although I think I’ll have a black eye or two tomorrow, I think it already looks slightly less dramatic... though by no means particularly normal either!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.