Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

REFLECTIONS

Turning sixty today has got me thinking, didnt have the same effect when turning fourty or fifty, just that sixty seems a somewhat bigger step!
I've a list of thinks I'v found out along the way:-

People who "hate getting old" are idiots. Every year is a privilege. Let me tell you, callow miserabilists: getting to 60 feels like a triumph. I have no idea how I made it this far, but I am very grateful.

When someone starts a sentence "I'm not being …", they always are.

Actions speak louder after four pints.

Compatibility is hugely overrated. I have little in common with most of my friends and with just about the entirety of my wife.

Grandparenthood is a beautiful revelation. You have kids, you know you will never experience that feeling of unconditional love for anyone else, ever, and then it happens all over again. A heart-stoppingly beautiful miracle.

One of the very best things about being old is you no longer have to pretend to like hateful music e.g. misogynistic hip-hop.

And please don’t get me started on the subject of ‘jazz” again. In the garden of music, jazz is bindweed.

Every journey of a thousand miles begins with some fat cabbie moaning about the economy.

Holidays seem so much more arseache than they are worth.

A poor workman always blames his ex-wife, or the meds.

stitch in time saves act three of most Star Trek episodes.

In my experience, NHS bureaucracy will conspire to kill you.

In my experience, NHS staff will conspire to save your life.

There is not a single bad mood that cannot be lifted, however grudgingly, by reading a Larkin poem.

It's funny and comforting to know that after you are dead, you will still get spam.

A problem shared is all over the Mail on Sunday.

Two's company, three's your friend's irritating new iPhone app.

Before you say anything nasty about someone, just pause for a second and browse through some really good adjectives in your head.


When people finish a sentence by saying "the list is endless", it always means they have run out of things to list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.