Europe Endless

I walked up the hill today after work feeling inexplicably and unjustifiably pleased with myself.

Europe Endless

The day was rather complicated. Got to waverley with 30 seconds to spare for the 8.30 train, which turned out to be cancelled, so got the delayed 8.45, which was slow and turned my 'erring on the side of caution timetable into a rush'. my regular run from Queen Street to Central felt easier than normal - I think the early-morning gym sessions are starting to pay off. Got to Paisley with enough time to take this shot before walking to the Council offices. Awful weather over there - disappointedly, my umbrella blew out and I cursed my unduly officey wardrobe choice. It seems okay, but once they blow out they're always compromised. the button-activated closing mechanism now seems dodgy, which is a pain, as I always liked the idea of closing the umbrella with one hand.

Paisley back to Glasgow and on to Falkirk via a route I'd not been on before - through Springburn, Cumbernauld and the like. Managed to get a lift back to Edinburgh, and had enough energy left for the walk, although still needing the umbrella. As I said, pleased with myself, and felt a bit like a modernist robot (is there any other kind?) listening to Kraftwerk (Trans-Europe Express, appropriately enough).

Oscar Niemeyer died today, age 104.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.