Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

It's Just about Time

The last time I walked out of a classroom was Tuesday, December 16, 2008. My students had completed their final exam and the semester was over.

Since then we've celebrated Christmas, New Year's, Martin Luther King, inauguration, Valentine's Day, and President's Day, full moons, new moons, and no moons, summer like weather in January, and finally some rain in February.

Mr. Fun and I have had a lovely 10 day vacation in the Monterey Bay area and Bob dog got to come along too. And my sister drove from Portland to join us.

I've worked two weeks of long days in the Writing and Reading Center (lab) at the campus, helping students who were enrolled in winter session.

Now it is time to start the new semester. It all begins tomorrow. My first class meets from 8:10-10:22. I worked today on my online portion for the class, getting it updated. I need a little help from the tech folks, but it's about ready.

What's not ready is my voice. I've had a burning throat all weekend. Before the first two hours is over tomorrow, my voice will be gone. So I'll sound squeaky or hoarse or both as I introduce students to the course and all that we will be doing this semester. Then I'll be doing orientations in the lab until middle afternoon. I don't like having my voice like this at the beginning.

It's rained most of this holiday Monday. We built a fire and stayed in. It is a privilege to go back tomorrow to my job. I just wish I felt better.

Good night for Southern California.
Rosie, aka Carol

P.S. The grandfather's clock was built by Mr. Fun's grandfather about 90 years ago. It is mission style and plays the full Westminster Chimes--four notes on the quarter hour, eight on the half, twelve on the three quarter and 16 notes on the hour and strikes the hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.