NellieD

By NellieD

Woolly memories

It seems to have been a day of wool today.

I had to go and buy a gift voucher as we will be announcing the winner of our extreme crochet and knitting competition on Saturday. It's something I've done every year and people can be very inventive! I have been known to crochet at the top of a children's slide :). The winner (unless things change) is a Norwegian lady knitting in the snow in Oslo. A close second was someone on the glass floor of the CN Tower.

I also got round to batching up our latest charity project to send to Knit for Peace.  Four kilos of blankets, hats and scarves that will be distributed to people in need in the UK and overseas.  One blanket fits a double bed and I am always amazed at the time, effort and wool people give to our projects.

My blip is a ripple blanket I started a couple of nights ago.  It's common knowledge that I don't do much crocheting when we meet up.  Since it's the first event of the year on Saturday, and I have 53 on the list, I thought I should make an effort.  It's a scrap buster and almost every colour tells a story ... the blue and pink from the Elizabeth Gaskell project, the orange from our Halloween yarn bomb of the main window and children's section of Waterstones and the mustard from the event to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter.  It's totally random and rather bold but a great way to use up all those leftover balls of wool.

Quote for today:
The best colour in the whole world is the one that looks good on you.
- Coco Chanel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.