The second half of life..

By twigs

Rescue

It was a hot day today......stinking hot.  And it was windy too.  I was doing a little tootying in the garden when I spied - and heard - this wee fella sitting on the path in the full sun, seemingly calling to his mum.  He may have been blown from the tree or he may have simply become exhausted.  As I approached he didn't move, he just kept calling.  I bent down to him and still he didn't move.......I lay my hand out on the ground alongside him and gently edged my fingers under his tummy.  He hopped (although it was more like a laboured climb) onto my hand and I carried him across the lawn and into the shade.  For a full 3 or 4 minutes he sat there on my hand calling for his mum then mum replied...... Their calling and reply continued until he finally had the energy and understanding to flap his wee wings just enough to get him up onto this branch.  I watched him as he struggled to cope with the strong wind unbalancing his wee body; he seemed to prop himself for a while against another branch.  When I returned 10 minutes later he'd gone - I hope he managed to find his way both back to mum and back to the safety of his nest.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.