Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Visits and fresh air

She's got out from her hospital bed for... ofcourse the inevitable fagbreak :-)

Went this morning again by from the house of another friend  of old times and again he didn't answer my calling. His cats neard me with curiosity but they couldn't tell me where he went to. Leaving the veranda I spotted a neighbour and he told me that Kostas was in hospital since 2 weeks.
So off to the hospital I went and they directed me to his room. I didn't recognize him as such and went back in tears to the nurses asking where the hell he was now... it's him alright in that bed, they said to me and when I returned and spoke to the man without hairs without heavy beard he answered me and I recognized him from his voice... I did find him than! 

His health very poor and I wonder if I ever will see him again. He complained to me that no neighbour, no friends of old times come to visit him in hospital as he has cancer and people fear contamination with that... Hmm... it may also be that him being confined to the bed and suffering from the medications does not remember well who and how often he gets visitors by, altho' I imagine he won't have visitors on daily base. After a little hour we said goodbyes and I was allowed to take a picture of him for his daughter and former wife (friends of mine and my kids) and I took to the balcony of the ward's floor for a smoke.

There I spotted this patient taking her fagbreak too! my Blip for today :-)

And there I chatted with one other who also visited a sick friend... he told me he and pals from that & such area come frequently over to cheer up their friend while he's still around; AH that area is the very same neighbourhood as my friend Kostas is from... do you know him?! Yes, ofcourse I know him! He's here now?! So I walked this man and his companion of friends up to Kostas'  room and thus Kostas had more visitors today! I really really loved this unexpected interval! 
I hope they will go and see Kosta too when they're there for their other friend; they promissed they will :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.