a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Looking healthy

Flower Friday: Orchids

It was Cathy's birthday recently and one of her presents was this rather fine potted orchid.  As you can see it is in full bloom and the picture of health at the present, you might even say that its in the pink ....

I shall get my coat.

One of my Christmas presents from Cathy was a new black background, which I've put to good use here.  I've experimented with the lighting - I have used a flash behind the plant as well as in front, which has helped light the edges of the petals and made them stand out a bit more.  I've also used one of my other Christmas presents, a reflector for bounced flash from the front, to soften the shadows a little.  As you can tell, I've been having fun fiddling with the lighting.  Its all trial and error, but in 2019 I'm hoping to get a little more proficient with flash photography - I've a lot to learn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.