Poppy

By Poppy

Scones are good for you!

A bus trip to Peebles this morning for LadyF and me. I've never been before and it was lovely. First stop was Coltman's café for cranberry and walnut scones, with butter, cream and jam! What the hell, we're on holiday! Very impressed with the place, grilled lamb's liver was on the menu too, one of my favourites. And there was a real fire. I must come again with Mike! 

A brisk and breezy walk along the river, chatting and laughing the while, we seem to have such a lot to talk about. Met the loveliest little dog too, Mr Cooper, a miniature Schnauzer, and then in an art gallery we saw a bronze one. One stole my heart, the other stole LadyF's!

We browsed the shops, bought some lovely bits and pieces, then caught the bus back again. Beautiful countryside, I do like seeing different parts of the country, little stone bridges, the rivers, the stark winter trees, gentle rolling hills. Back in Edinburgh we did a bit of a trawl of the charity shops, poor long suffering LadyF was incredibly patient and very helpful with her honest sartorial advice!

We were invited for coffee with one of LF's daughters on the way home. I met her in Orkney in the summer and it was lovely to see her again. Always nice to go to someone's house and see Orkney pictures on the wall too.

Back at the Dower House we had a wonderful spicy vegetable stew and more sticky fruit crumble with Greek yoghurt! Oh, I am having a grand time!  Being with her ladyship is a real tonic! I shall be very sorry to leave tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.