Tunduru

I want to go back to work with life relatively in order, as it's going to be an intense year. One of today's tasks was getting the engineers to examine the recently installed aircon unit in my bedroom, as it has never worked. They loitered on the balcony for several hours citing something about gas. They were mostly dozing whenever I checked.

I completely failed to revise my Portuguese verb endings whilst on holiday and during today's first lesson of the year I think I detected some mild frustration on Ilídio's face. By the end of the lesson I don't think I was doing any more poorly than in December, but I'll buck up my ideas.

The picture is of Tunduru Gardens, the botanical park here, as I trundled past to the supermarket. I will return one weekend day, book in hand, to enjoy the environs.

I grabbed the very Mozambican snack of a doner kebab before entering the supermarket. Next to me was a frightfully posh British man having a phone disagreement with someone called Anne. He was supposed to have called the bank. He later offered to bake a cake for something, in lieu of buying one. Given that he only ordered hummus, my guess is that their inherited wealth and range of family businesses are threatened by the uncertain pound, so they're tightening their belts and regretting that Leave vote.

In attempting to maintain a sunkissed look, I couldn't moisturise in the evening as the heat and humidity have supplied me with a constant sheen that would likely block the absorption of additional fluids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.