What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Stripping down!

Tomorrow I'm dropping my beloved Defender off with some friends in Bath who are going to take off the roof rack, external roll cage and raised air intake; rub them down to bare metal, repair where necessary, galvanise, powder coat and re-fit them! Then it will be sparkly again!

Being without it for the next few weeks will be a strain though :( although I'm looking forward to seeing the finished result.

The montage shows the rack with roof box and sand ladders, through to the semi-stripped version. As it was pouring all day, I did as much as I could given the weather, but still have front & rear plaques and the awning to remove tomorrow morning.

I think I'll be needing a new sheet of marine ply too, as my foot went through the front of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.