fmower

By fmower

Fecalith

Well, that was a medical whirlwind.

From mini golf to tummy pain to phoning 111 to ambulance to hospital to nurse to doctor to surgeon to ward to near-formal complaint about the hospital’s “nil by mouth” policy to CT scan to confirmed appendicitis diagnosis to concern about a “growth” (attached to my appendix) to operating theatre to appendix removal to reassurance about the “growth” (attached to my appendix and now similarly removed) to a different ward where the nurses are fantastic (into that, feel free to read that, as well as being great in their own right, the nurses on this new ward are also so much better than on the first ward I was in”)...ladies and gentlemen, I give you my last 48 hours!

If I had to pick a highlight - and I’d be spoilt for choice, of course - it would have to be my discovery of the word “fecalith”. I will try to use it always in my everyday conversation.

Thanks to Will for everything, including bringing me in food at midnight last night, to enable me to stage a protest and breach my own “nil by mouth” instruction. The emotional support from Will and everyone else has been great too, but the “sod nil by mouth!” sandwich was the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.