Some Cowboy Retail Therapy

Our broken down van story continues. Since it is Sunday, we haven't yet been able to talk to the dealership, so we are stuck in our Holiday Inn. Or...were we?

We got a ride from a guy named Tim to an Enterprise rental car company. We were a signature away from getting a Ford Focus when they said we needed a MAJOR credit card because we were from out of state. Come to find out...our Chase card had been cancelled due to lack of use. OH NO! They wouldn't take our Michigan debit card, so we were up a creek. Or...were we?

A young lady at the dealership where we had our van towed to...had given Lisa her personal cell phone number. Lisa called her...she put some wheels in motion...and we got our rented Ford.

With our Ford, we went to a big shopping mall, had a late lunch at Red Lobster, and we went to see the new Mary Poppins movie.

At the Boot Barn, I put on a pair of Wrangler jeans, a pearl-studded cowboy shirt, a white Stetson hat, and some Justin cowboy boots. I asked a fellow cowboy for a wad of chewing tobacco, and I went up to the cowgirl with the white face.

"Hey Darlin...how do I look?" She gave me a blank stare with no words...so I spit my chaw of Beechnut on to her white foot. That'll teach her.

The car is good, lunch was fair, and we enjoyed the movie (although it didn't come close to comparing to the original.)

At 8 a.m. sharp, I will be doing some begging and pleading at the car dealership. I hope that they are as nice as all the people we have met so far. There is something to be said for Southern hospitality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.