rower2012

By rower2012

Camera launch party for Xmas

I know the very best way to win Paladian's heart! All I have to do is take her to our favourite photographic shop and shower her with gifts. (Preferably ones I can use also!) Only it wasn't quite like that today.

This morning we attended the Christmas sausage sizzle and launch of the new Canon 6D camera at a Mini Trade Show. Leica provided the special Xmas BBQ for all who attended.

How times have changed. Once upon a time, pre global financial melt-down, it would have been a full barbecue with assorted alcoholic drinks - these days it's a sausage sizzle and bring your own bottle of water.

There was a competition to win a 6D camera body and of course we both entered, but unless there is a minor Christmas miracle, I can't see that we'll win one. I caught Paladian actually stroking a 600 mm prime lens, with such a wanting look on her face. Fat chance after I asked the price!

I bought my first professional camera from this store, back in 1971, and it was a Mamiya RB67. I still have that camera I called "The Tank", tucked away in a box!

Anyway, we had a good play with the cameras, 5DIII and some wonderful lenses and made up a pretend Christmas present list, sighed a lot, enjoyed our sausage and came home again.

I took my own CF cards with me so that I could keep any sample photos I took. This one was a surprise being 1/30th hand held but turned out nicely as a memory of the occasion. It is unprocessed, exactly as it came from the 6D. Seen better in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.