The Daily Grind

It's only been daily for just a few days, and it's not going to go on indefinitely. I'll soon have all my tools sharpened.

It's been over a year since I bought Diamond in the Rough, and I've recently been working on cleaning it up and make it less rough. The cosmetic stuff is done -- it's time for the functional improvement.

In order to produce flat wood surfaces, the bottom of the plane itself has to be flat. This one was not. I've spent many hours lapping (grinding) it on very coarse sandpaper glued on a piece of marble. If I'd known how much work it was going to be I would have taken it to a machine shop, but once I started, my compulsive urge took over, and it became an irresistible challenge. It's not perfectly flat now, but it will do (if I can stop myself from trying to make it better).

Here's a close-up taken before I finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.