Two Ladies and a Wild Goose

Dear Diary,

One of the few souvenirs I brought back from my trip in September is a print done by an artist on Lindisfarne, the Holy Island, in Northumbria, England.  My friend, who does fine art printing, enlarged it and printed it on transparent cloth so I could hang it on the door of my sitting room.  Photographing it wasn't easy.  A flash washed it out so I just held my breath and hoped for the best.  I really like how the Kabuki mask I got in Japan and the ivory carving from China stand out in the dark.

When I taught a class in contemplative photography once I encourage people to embrace the "difficulties" they encounter.  They may guide you to an interesting result.  I think that worked here.  In contemporary Celtic spirituality, the Wild Goose is a symbol of the holy spirit.  I just loved the imagery in this talented woman's art.  Her name is Mary Fleeson and her studio is called the Lindisfarne Scriptorium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.