Allegorical Figure group

I decided that today I would get a set of images of the four groups of figures located on the corner abutments of the bridge over the River Kelvin close to Kelvingrove Art Gallery.

I took 45 images which I'll reduce to around 20 for the final set.   I think they look better in monochrome but that won't be my decision.

They are in Bronze and the sculptor was Paul Raphael Montford.    Montford won the commission in an open competition in 1914.

The subjects depicted in the four groups are Peace and War; Navigation and Shipbuilding;  Commerce and  Industry; Philosophy and Inspiration.  Five of the figures are female, 3 male.    Glasgow University is in the background.

This one is Philosphy with an elderly bearded male holding a skull, and Inspiration - a female figure with arms outstretched holding a lute. 

Two of the statues, including 'War & Peace' were displaced during the air raids in 1941.  At leat one of them ended up in the river. 

The green colour is a naturally occurring patina that forms on bronze.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.