Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

In Search of a Sunset

I'm an optimist.  So seeing a weather forecast with a hint of broken cloud at both sunrise and sunset today, I was ready to take advantage.  I gave up on the sunrise without even leaving the house.  A uniform grey was visible to the east.  Frustratingly, only an hour later, the sun was blinding us as we headed to the gym for another pilates session.

So roll on late afternoon and I can see blue sky above.  This time it felt worthwhile to make the effort to go out.  Regrettably, it wasn't to be.  It even started to rain while I was waiting in the vain hope of good light.  I still got this image, though I'm actually facing almost due north with the lens.  There was the briefest of glows on the western horizon, but you'd have needed a long telephoto lens to make anything of it. Oh well. roll on tomorrow, the forecast again hints at a possibility and I've got to drop the car in at the garage to investigate an unusual bleep when unlock it, so I'll be out anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.