The cycle starts again

I drove out to the house on a morning that improved after a run in with the spectacularly sour staff at a local Co- op. The sun was warm and fullsome. I got the cultivator out and turned over two terraces the soil now more or less thawed. With Andy Murray’s last game on the radio holding back the tears. Just a half workday easing myself back into it.

At one point I thought I saw a sparrow hawk drift over a briar rise and tuck down behind the lowest terrace. But it looked a bit too big, a bit too dark. Wondered if it might have been a male goshawk moving to the wet ground in the big field where a hunter told me there were woodcocks.
Goshawks breed higher up in the forests feeding mainly on jays and dormice

Tomorrow it all kicks off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.