Doing time....

I finally spent part of the morning in Inveraray Jail having been invited to visit on several occasions .

This is a long-standing tourist attraction in what was at one time the county town of Argyll and is a splendid restoration of the old 19th century jails (there are two) as well as the former Sheriff Courthouse which was actually in use until 1954.

My main picture is of one of the two re-created exercise pens and one of my two additional photos is of the court room. The use of both mannequins as well as live , dressed up local people is very effective as are the explanatory displays.

The one I have also added as an extra includes a tribute from the Australian descendants of a man incarcerated in Inveraray for forgery in 1846 before being transported - a touching story of things eventually coming good.

The whole place is well worth a visit and I am glad I finally got to do some time here.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.