Letting go

My wonderful friend Emma came over this morning and helped me do some much-needed decluttering and letting go, these two pictures which are quite large belonged to my mother, I was remember them hanging up at home, I had one of them in my bedroom as a teenager, when she was in the home she really wanted one of them in her room, it just wasn’t practical, I intended to make a smaller copy for her and never got round to it. They’ve become water damaged and the frames have been chipped after being stored and Gerry’s summer house for 18 months not that they were in great condition before that anyway.... they are not worth very much, maybe £30-£40 each. I don’t have anywhere to hang them up and I just really need to clear some space so these were two of the items that were taken to the charity shop today. After photographing them and putting them in the car I actually felt physically sick and then I cried a bit, as we were driving down to the charity shop I felt sad emptiness, so many memories and also feelings of regret, it was time to let them go. After photographing them and putting them in the car I actually felt physically sick and then I cried a bit, as we were driving down to the charity shop I felt sad emptiness, so many memories and also feelings of regret, it was time to let them go.

I also donated Zebedee’s zebra chair that he had when he was little to a local playgroup that he used to go to, a lovely lady called Chris was there to gratefully receive it, she used to look after Zebedee and Gulliver so that wasn’t such a wrench. I still felt sad though.

I’ve been watching a series on Netflix on tidying by Marie Kondo, i’ve already read her book, it’s inspiring, Max and I did so much clearing last year but we haven’t finished the job and it just really has to get done.

I walked into Kingston to pick up a saucepan we had ordered and take something to the post office Emma and just generally to get some air, I spoke to my dad who has been researching the family tree and found some very interesting connections!

Max and I finished watching the Americans, a great series, my brother recommended it to us and said he couldn’t see how it could carry on after this final series but we disagree.

My Dad‘s notes on the family tree

My 15th Great Grandmother was Minnie Carptenter born in 1420 who married a man called Isted – no first name. Their descendent Sarah Isted (My 3rd G GM) married George Wood on 20 September 1802. His son Richard Wood was Samuel John's father who is my GGF (Nana’s father in law).


The Isted family (also spelt Istead) seem to have been well connected. In 1575 Richard Isted married Anne Warnett whose grandmother, Eliza (my 12th GGM) was the sister of Thomas Langton, Bishop of Winchester from 1493-1501. It seems the Warnetts were wealthy Sussex landowners with estates that included Buxted. The male line died out!

Isted is a Sussex Saxon name. Add 1 for your decent (e’g 16th GGM Minnie and 2 for the boys)






We are also descended from Sir Edward Coke through his daughter Bridget.. You can read about him here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Coke

He's my 10th GGF







I just discovered my 17th great-grandfather

Stephen Laundey BIRTH 1290 • Stafford, Staffordshire, England
Died 1372

He was born 729 years ago!!!!

Maybe we can get back to 1066.






Hi Katy,

Tried to phone.

We are seeing Hazel this Sunday 20th.

I think you know that you were named Katherine because we loved a book by Anya Seton of that name. It's the story of Katherine Swynford who was John of Gaunt's mistress and later his wife. Their descendants became the Tudors and - the Woods.

John of Gaunt (Son of Edward 111) by his marriage to Katherine Swynford had a daughter Blanch Countess of Westmoreland from whom are descended Elizabeth Fairfax who married John Skinner. Their descendent Elizabeth Skinner Married John Quiddington, their son Charles is my 6th (your 7th) Great –grandfather.

Edward 111 was a Plantagenet and because of that we are descended also from them and can trace our selves back to the 8th century.

Earliest is Hugh de Bourges
Birth: Estimated between 758 and 818

His son
Tertullus de Gâtinais, Sénéchal d'Anjou
Birthdate: circa 823 Rennes, Anjou, France Death: 870 (43-51)

His son
Ingelger Count of Anjou
Died 888 Buried Church of Saint-Martin at Châteauneuf-sur-Sarthe
Spouse(s) Adelais of Amboise

His son Born about 870 Fulk mother Adelais of Amboise
died around 942.

Geoffrey Plantagenet, Count of Anjou is descended from above and is the father of King Henry II (1154–1189) from whom Plantagenet monarchs are descended until Richard 111.

Apart from that we are also descended from a bunch of important families including the Bolyns (Of Henry 8th wife fame) as well as land owners, sheriffs of Kent and Sir Edward Coke the most famous of Elizabethan and Jacobean jurists. All these come through marriage to the Woods of Cudham.

Love,

Dad

XXX

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.