But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Garden Waste.

Last week, we received a letter from the cooncil informing us that it will now cost us £35 per bin, per annum to have our garden waste collected. Personally, I am in favour of composting though opinions are divided within the TD Household as to what can – and cannot – go on the heap. I tend to take the Bob Flowerdew attitude that, “If it ever lived, it can be composted.” In spite of that, there are items that I put on the heap that Mrs TD removes when she thinks I am not looking – and versa-visy. There have been times where World War III has been imminent.
 

Comments have appeared on the local social medium concerning the new charge, surprisingly (well I was surprised) the consensus opinion is that it represents good value with the few dissenters pointing out that fly-tipping, already a problem, will increase. While subscribing to both views, I consider that garden refuse is a valuable resource and should be composted, and sold to the highest bidder, to supplement the cooncil’s coffers; I even had the temerity to make a comment to that effect on the said medium. It only received one comment which suggested that that might already take place. My investigations through Google revealed no information and I assumed that the negative result meant that the local authority lacked the resourcefulness to instigate such an initiative. The nearest thing that I’ve been able to find to a source of reliable information – our young and rather attractive gardener (whose opinion I trust unreservedly) – stated that the cooncil actually pay an organisation to remove the stuff and dispose of it; it is even possible that they do compost it and sell it - though my cynical side suggests that it is more likely to go to landfill. After all, if it were disposed of in an environmentally responsible fashion then, surely, the cooncil would be boasting about it – wouldn’t they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.