Ringling Roses

I met my friend Paula at the Ringling Museum today. We were in luck with Mabel's Rose garden - look at this beauty we found! We were not sure how many roses would be in bloom, January in Florida, but there were quite a few! My blip friend rower2012 knows this spot, as I took him here when he visited us from Australia. Imagine that, he has roses for his blip today too!
note:  Mable & John Ringling built a mansion here in the heyday of the famous Ringling Circus. John was an art collector and their huge property including all the art was given to the state of Florida upon his death.

It was a lovely day. Paula & I had delicious salads with leafy greens, pea sprouts (!) and veggies at the Muse Restaurant on the property. Today, we did not look at any of the paintings inside but instead walked the grounds and gathered inspiration there. We saw a beautiful African Tulip Tree, a cute squirrel with a berry in his mouth, and many banyan trees with their roots reaching towards the ground. Besides the wonderful rose garden, we walked further to Mable's Secret garden where bright orange monarchs flitted above us and then landed AND stayed put for us to take photos of them. They were quite good models!! I will add an extra photo or two.

I am so lucky to have developed a friendship over time and emails with someone who has many of the same interests. When you have this, it is so easy to spend time with them . . . share ideas back and forth and as Paula said to me -- you understand when I talk to you about my paintings!! :o) Paula lives in the Bahamas, so I do not see her too often, but when we do get together we comfortably slip back into talking & sharing. A huge blessing in my life! 

Thank you for your visits, stars, hearts and comments. I am not letting myself respond to everything but certainly appreciate!! I am figuring out how to fit blipfoto back in my life. Thank you for your time here! (extra photos!)
xo lenna 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.