The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne (Monday 14th January 2019)

The morning was largely focused by bird activity. All the regular garden visitor species, the finches, coal tits, robins, blackbirds and pigeons, were busy in the feeder areas, and when I went into Calne via the back route alongside the River Marden and the old canal this grey heron flew across the river and landed in the field nearby. Luckily I had my superzoom bridge camera with me and was able to get this shot.

I met a man with binoculars who told me he'd seen wrens, long-tailed tits and a buzzard in the woodland behind the canal bed, and as he was speaking I noticed a large white-winged bird flying behind him. I assumed it was a gull or an egret but shortly afterwards I saw it again and realised it was a barn owl, unusually out and about close to noon. It landed in a tree but was too distant to photograph. When I reached the river bridge in Castlefields Park I saw a couple of the long-tailed tits he mentioned.

The Calne swan was gliding up and down The Wharf as usual and when I walked around the church tower I saw Perry, the falcon, staring down at me with his beady eyes (see Extras).

L.
15.1.2019 (1300 hr)

Blip #2830 (#2580 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2019 #7/265 + #005/100 Extras
Day #3217 (646 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #1972 (#1813 + 159 in archived blips)

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 bridge camera (24-2000mm at 1600mm in 35mm terms)

Calne series
Birds series
Herons series
Wildlife series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Ronnie Hawkins and the Band - Who Do You Love? (recorded live, 25 November 1976, Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco CA)
Tested out the sound system in the outbuilding studio by playing tracks from the DVD-Audio of The Last Waltz in 5.1 sound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.